What Are Hollow Reeds?

A little over a year ago, early into my current spiritual path, I heard a prayer that spoke to everything I felt in my soul.

half quote

Oh, God, make me a hollow reed, from which the pith of self hath been blown so that I may become as a clear channel through which Thy Love may flow to others.

Sometimes it’s attributed to `Abdu’l-Bahá and sometimes George Townshend and sometimes to someone else unknown. Honestly, I like the mystery, it seems to be in a beautiful dance with the humility and loss of ego this quote speaks to.

I wanted to let my material sense of self melt away, to act as a pure spirit, to let the light of love shine unimpeded by the shadows a physical body casts. I wanted to be a hollow reed.

Love&Light
-A Half Hollow Reed

Leave a Reply

